Another Bun In The Oven!

Ever since Carter was born, Chris and I have been talking about how far apart we want our children to be.  For many different reasons, we both wanted our kids to be about two years apart. We did the math and that meant we needed to start trying around January.  Well, just like last time, I was very fortunate to get pregnant right away!  We got our first positive pregnancy test on January 21st!

So there you have it.  I have another bun in the oven!  My first trimester with Carter was challenging but this one has been straight up exhausting.  I’m on anti-nausea medicine from the time I wake up until it is time for bed.  I take one zofran at 7am, one at 2pm and then phenegran at 9pm. I’m almost 11 weeks along so I’m hoping all of this will soon pass!

For those of you wondering, I’m betting that it is a girl.  My Mom was much sicker with me than she was with Will.  Plus, the old wives tales say women are sicker when carrying girls.  I know every pregnancy is different but I will be shocked if we find out I’m carrying a boy!  It’s just crazy that this first trimester has been so much more challenging than the first time around!

Have we picked out a name?  Of course we have!!  Elise Ann is our girl name.  I love the name Elise and it’s a shortened version of Elizabeth, my Mom’s name.  Ann is my Grandma’s middle name, my Mom’s middle name and my middle name so it’s only fitting to pass it down to our precious little girl!

If we are having another little boy, we will probably name him Sutton Cade.  We haven’t decided with certainty but we both really like those two names.  We should be able to find out the sex of the baby in early May.  This feels like an eternity to me!

An update on Carter

Stacking blocks is a serious task, one the Carter does not take lightly!

Carter has officially taken his first steps!  I was actually buying him shoes at Stride Rite when I saw him take his first 3 steps!  He was wearing his new kicks and I was checking out.  I turned around to check on him and he just stood right up and walked towards me.  I was speechless!

His old daycare is relocating to a location even further away from our house so we made the decision to move Carter to Country Home Daycare.  We loved his teachers at Little Lighthouse almost as much as Carter loved them.  He used to be all smiles and would reach out for Miss Ashley when he saw her in the mornings.  Chris drops him off in the morning and says it’s so hard to leave him because he just looks up at him and cries when he leaves.  It is definitely an adjustment but I’m hopeful that with a little time, it will get better.  One fun thing about the new daycare is that three of my high school friends have kids in Carter’s class!

Until next time! xoxo

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Responses

  1. Alexis and Chris

    We are very excited for your growing family. I hope it is a girl. I go to the Dr. with Blanca on Monday and we should be able to find out if a boy or girl. I really feel like it is going to be a girl. I will let you know,

    Carter will adjust to his new day care, it just takes a little while. The older he is the longer it takes because they know more! I speak from experience because he is this same age group I used to take care of.

    I sure hope you feel better soon, I was extremely tired with Cassie the whole time I was pregnant. Fingers crossed for a girl, then I will have to find the cutest pink towels for you/her. LOL

    Love ya

    Aunt Lisa

  2. So excited for you, Alexis! Isn’t it wonderful when everything falls into place? A girl would be a marvellous addition to what seems to be the perfect family!

  3. That’s so crazy – I found your blog when my wife was pregnant with our DD and I think ya’ll were due right around the same time then. We too are pregnant again! ha! We found out on Jan. 17th! Ours was a complete surprise – we’ve never gotten pregnant on our own and this was totally without any medicine or anything! My wife’s 1st trimester has been very different than the first – very tired and very sick as well. We have a girl, so I’m thinking this one is a boy, but the heart rate has been telling different (even though you really can’t put much stock in that!) Anyway, hope you have a smooth pregnancy!

  4. Chris and Alexis,
    What a joy to hear that you are in process of expanding your family!
    You are so lucky in your lives,and so blessed Alexis,hope your pregnancy becomes easier, and that you feel better SOON.
    Karen and Gene

Leave a Reply

