My new hobby: Worm Farming!

Mimi and her little man

My new-found hobby is worm farming!!  My husband is from New Orleans and grew up thinking that you can just stick a plant in the ground and it will grow.  That may work in NOLA but it certainly is not the case here in San Antonio!

Since our raised beds are full of clay, I bought some books and started doing research.  I purchased a gardening book from Anthropology and read an article that talked about how to get children interested in gardening.  The author started talking about worm farms and how beneficial they can be for your plants.  I was immediately hooked and set out researching which worm farm to buy!

I’ll save you the details but I’m now raising Red Wigglers and Alabama Jumpers.  I have a worm farm for the Red Wigglers and feed them daily.  I have about 500 and I’m getting 2,000 more!  They are composting worms and eat half a pound of organic wast each day, leaving us with perfectly rich castings to be used as fertilizer.  The Alabama Jumpers are larger worms that love clay soil.  They will help aerate and fertilize our beds.

Feeding the worms will be Carter’s first chore!!  It will teach him about recycling food and give us a chance to play in the garden together!  A quick shout out to Kyle Harrell for selling me my wormies!!  Visit his blog, Texas Red Worms, to read more about raising your own worms. 🙂

On to Mr. Carter and his latest and greatest achievements!  He’s growing and growing and is now 15lbs. He loves to hang on my shoulder after eating and always falls fast asleep, after his belly is full.  I know he will quickly outgrow this but it is truly my FAVORITE thing right now!

When he wakes in the morning, he works his little hand out of his swaddle blanket.  He quickly finds his thumb and pacifies himself back to sleep.  When he’s finally ready to wake up, he’ll call for me and as soon as he sees me peek over his crib, he gives me a huge, gummy smile.  He’ll usually nurse and then play on his activity mat.  He bats at his rattles and animal friends and coos all morning.  He is just so happy and sweet in the mornings, I love it!!

My Mom put together a pretty spread and helped me hold my house open for Carter’s Sip and See on Saturday.  It was a sweet afternoon and Carter looked adorable in his UT outfit from his Corpus Aunts, Elena and Mariana.  He got to meet lots of pretty women, but it was an extra special day, thanks to Betty and Jackie!  Betty and Jackie were our neighbors at my parent’s old house.  They met me when I was two and have been part of our family ever since!  Many of my childhood memories are of them helping me fly a kite and teaching me board games.  I was thrilled to get to introduce Carter to both of them!

My first Mother’s Day has come and gone.  Mimi and Grandpa babysat so that Chris could take me to the movies.  Since I read the book, Water for Elephants, I was dying to see the movie.  It’s a wonderful book AND movie but be prepared to shed a couple of tears.  The sweet old man in the movie played his part all too well.

My little man is waking up from his morning nap!  Until next time…

xoxo

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Response

  1. Hi! I discovered this business lately myself. Do you know products that can be useful for my wormfarm? I am in the process of really developing my worm farm to make it more profitable. Thanks! – Kristina

Leave a Reply

