Oh sleepless nights, when will you fade away?!!

4 Generations

Our little guy has digressed to sleeping for only 1.5-3 hours at a time at night.  It’s been two weeks since my last post.  I apologize, but when the babe’s not sleeping, Mommy is not sleeping, and far less gets accomplished!

I can’t let these last two weeks slip away, as they were filled with lots of firsts!  Chris and I had a wedding in Austin last Saturday, so my parents and my Grandma kept Carter overnight.  My Grandma flew in from Portland to meet her great-grandson and help Mom & Dad babysit Carter.  As always, her visit flew by and felt way too short!

I hosted a play date at our house this past week, and had two good friends over with their newborns, Hailey and Davis.  The little munchkins were not as entertained as we were, but it was fun to exchange stories and get empathetic nods when talking about sleepless nights and blowout diapers.

This past weekend, Chris flew to New Orleans to be in his good friend Brian’s wedding.  I was sad to miss it, but I had one of my best friends from college, Christine Raborn, come to keep us company!  We took Carter shopping and to eat at Dough and Nordstrom Cafe.  It was my first time to eat at the infamous Dough, and it was fabulous!  Carter cruised along in his Baby Jogger and was a content little shopper.  It was so good to see both my Grandma and Christine, I just wish I could make these girl weekends happen more often!!

Carter should be 6 weeks old, but is really 14.  Again, I go by the corrected date b/c he’s only as developed as a 6-week-old baby.  He’s smiling more, weighs 13 lbs and is 23 inches long.  He ALWAYS sleeps with his hands up and I think it’s the cutest thing!  He still loves bath time and is starting to use his hands more.  He held his bottle for the first time this morning!

xoxo

P.S. I purchased tulips for $5 at HEB and thought they were too pretty not to photograph!  Also, I just uploaded all the recent pictures taken with my iphone.  Some are pretty poor quality and color…due to the iphone camera.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Responses

  1. Oh squee! Those sweet smiles are the best.

  2. You will likely get a break and will get more sleep soon. But know you need to sleep when he sleeps, even then. It is very likely that once you think you have a schedule, a growth spurt will appear…and poof…schedule gone. Then there is what we are going through right now; 4 month sleep regression. It’s a killer, seriously. Just know you aren’t alone, and this will pass. Try your darndest to sleep whenever you have opportunity.

Leave a Reply

