Hospital Scare

We had our first trip to the hospital this past weekend.  I have bled a couple of times in the last month, but I woke up on Sunday morning with more than normal bleeding.  I called my doctor and she said to come into the hospital immediately.  I already had appointments and showings set up with 3 different sets of Clients.  I was not anticipating her to tell me to drop everything IMMEDIATELY.  A quick shout out to all my Clients, for being so understanding and caring this past weekend.

I checked into Methodist Hospital and thus began the poking and prodding.  I have floating veins and nurses and doctors have ALWAYS had a hard time getting blood samples. Nothing was different about this trip!  After 45 minutes, they finally got their blood samples and successfully connected me to an IV drip.  Wheeling an IV machine around is not the easiest thing, especially when you are pregnant and making frequent dashes to the bathroom!

We were in the emergency section of Labor and Delivery for most of Sunday.   My doctor came to meet me at the hospital and after examining me, she uttered my two most dreaded words; bed rest.

WHATTTTTTTTT????!!!!

Hormones immediately kicked in and I’ll admit, I started to tear up.  I have never enjoyed hospitals and my doctor was telling me she MIGHT have to keep me on bed rest, IN THE HOSPITAL, for the next couple of days.  It hadn’t even crossed my mind that I would have to stay overnight, much less multiple nights!  She then went on to tell me that if the bleeding continues, they would have to monitor me AT THE HOSPITAL for the next 3 months.  Without my loving husband there, insisting I hold his hand and breathe, I’m not sure how I would have reacted to that news!

Long story short, my doctor thinks I have a placental tear.   The problem lies in the fact that no one is sure about what is causing the bleeding.  If it’s a placental tear, and it tears more, it could be fatal for both Baby Carter and me.  My doctor’s worst fear is that I might tear more and it would then cause a placental abruption.  If that were to happen, they would need to do surgery immediately, thus the reason for my remaining in the hospital.

The good news is that the bleeding has stopped.  I’m now at home, but on bed rest for a week.  I’m hoping we won’t have to see that hospital for the next 3 months!  I’ll keep you all updated!

P.S.  Husband was so sweet and brought me my favorite Thai food, along with every meal and snack imaginable.  He knew there was no way I was touching hospital food!  He went home to grab my overnight bag and came back with a movie.  Sunday night was our first “date night,” in a hospital!  We snuggled in the tiniest of beds, watched our movie and he didn’t leave until I was fast asleep.  Love him, love him!!

6 Responses

  1. Have Chris rent you a season of your favorite show! That’s the best way to pass time when you are sick! Maybe even rent a season of a show that you have never seen but have always wanted to! You will get hooked ant the best part is that you are never left having to wait a week for the next episode. Lot of full seasons are online too! You Chris and Baby Carter are in my prayers!

  2. We’ve been telling you what a special guy you have in Chris! Now it’s up to you to follow the Dr.’s orders COMPLETELY so that you will have another VERY SPECIAL GUY in your life. As your Mom has counseled, you are the baker for the little guy cooking in the oven. Remember the old coaching maxims Dad used to throw your way in volleyball, basketball & softball? You know, “Be the ball!” Now go ahead, kick back & BE THE OVEN! We all want Carter Austin baked to perfection!

  3. I am so sorry to hear about this scare, but so grateful that you are both doing good now! We will keep you in our prayers. Please don’t hesitate to call if you need anything 🙂

  4. Follow the doctors orders and STAY IN BED. We don’t want anything happening to you or Carter. Let that great husband take care of you and get lots of rest. Believe me you will need it once that little guy of yours arrives in a few months.

  5. I’m sorry to hear about the scare and now the bed rest. I just can’t see you staying still that long, but I think you have a big enough reason to do it…so you’ll be able to.

    Maybe I should send you some yummy baked stuff. let me know. 🙂

  6. Hey Lady A.,
    I am glad to hear that you are resting (as well as can be). It sounds like you have your hands full your update is really cool. Hang in there is and know that we miss you guys! Htouwn is great-flat but it’s great to be around family again. Take care, rest well and keep up the posts! I will keep you guys in my thoughts and prayers!!!

Leave a Reply

