Altitude and Pregnancy

Flight to Vail, CO

I just returned from a fabulous girls trip to Vail, Colorado.  Thanks to the Lamy’s, all 11 of us were able to fly out together.   I haven’t flown anywhere since I found out I was pregnant, so I was a little nervous about getting nauseous.  Thankfully, we were able to fly at 40,000 feet, which put us above all the all the clouds and turbulence.  The take off and landing still affected my stomach, but the climb and descent only lasted a couple of minutes, and then it was smooth sailing for the remainder of the flight.

When I told friends and family that I was going to Vail with my girlfriends, I received a lot of advice.  Everyone seemed overly concerned about the altitude and the effects it would have on the baby and my body.  I’ll be honest; I was so excited to see my girlfriends that I hadn’t even given the altitude a second thought.

Taking a hike and stopping for another picture with Brooke!

Now that I’m back from Colorado, I can testify that the altitude does have an effect on your body.  There is less oxygen in the mountains, so your body has to expend more energy, just to keep you breathing.  When we would go on our morning walks or short afternoon hikes, it was hard for me to keep up with the group.   Thankfully, I was the photographer and insisted on taking a picture whenever I found myself short of breath.  (I took lots of pictures!)

The altitude did not have any other adverse affects on me.  I didn’t experience any headaches or nausea.   On our walks, I was out of breath more than my friends, and had to rest a bit more, but everyone understood.

My advice for all pregnant women is to be sensible when visiting the mountains.   Drink lots of water and don’t push yourself too hard.

I just had my third doctor’s visit this morning, and the baby’s heart rate was healthy 150!  My doctor agreed that traveling in high altitudes is safe, as long as you don’t overexert yourself.

Below are some pictures from our week in Vail.  As you can see, we had an absolute blast!  I think I might like Colorado better in the summer than the winter.  The weather was perfect with a high of 75 and a low of 45.   The views weren’t too bad either!

Colorado weather, I miss you!!

Lunch in Vail, CO

Lamy's gorgeous mountain home

Dinner at the Ritz

Highschool best friends, Lauren & Leslie

Leave a Reply

