My Scale Is Lying To Me

13 weeks pregnant

My morning routine starts out like this:

–       open eyes and say good morning to husband and puppies
–       feel full bladder and head to restroom
–       feel hunger pains and head straight to the kitchen for cereal & juice
–       check emails
–       head upstairs to shower

Now, before you all call me crazy, I want you to realize that my body has stayed true to this routine for over 5 years now.   Before I step into the shower, I always weigh myself.  I’m not obsessed with my weight; it has just become a habit.

I consider it a healthy habit.  I now know, thanks to my trusty scale, exactly how my body reacts to different situations.  If I have two dirty martinis the night before, I can expect to weigh 3-5 lbs more, from water retention alone.   Bottom line is that my scale has taught me how to be more in tune with my body.

So, you can imagine that after a 5 year, trusting relationship with my scale, I’m more than a bit disappointed that he keeps lying to me.  Yes, I’m now referring to my scale as a he.  A good girlfriend of over 5 years would not continue to lie to me.

Take a look at the picture above.  This is me at 13 weeks pregnant, after a large dinner.  Do I look like I’ve put on weight since I first found out I was pregnant?  HELL YES I DO!  I feel like I’ve put on 15 lbs.  I even grab my new maternity dresses over my cuter ones, because they now fit better than all my other clothes!

The day I found out I was pregnant I weighed 133 lbs.  I might fluctuate 2 to 3 lbs, but 133 lbs seems to be my body’s comfortable weight.  I continue to weigh myself every morning, and my scale continues to say 134.6 lbs. LIAR!!  How in the world can my body configuration change so dramatically without putting on any real weight?!

Puerto Aventuras, la playa

For the first time in my life, I’m annoyed at the low number on the scale.  I think it’s just hard to process that my body has changed so dramatically, and that I eat SO MUCH MORE, but yet I’ve gained less than 2 lbs.  This is NOT what my body normally looks like at 134.6 lbs.  I know that look, and it’s nowhere even close to the picture above.  It’s closer to the picture below, because I DID weigh 134 lbs in the beach picture.  Seriously!!!!

Many of my friends say they did not start showing until they were 5 months pregnant.  This makes me self-conscious because there is no doubt that I am already showing at 3 months.  I guess the only saving grace is that I haven’t literally put on weight; it just appears that way…for now.

7 Responses

  1. Be careful, it might catch up with you later. Enjoy it now.

    Love ya,

    “Auntie” Lisa 🙂

  2. Your post made me laugh – my wife is also pregnant and is 13 weeks as well – she has only gained like a pound or 2 and is already buying maternity shirts because things have shifted! When she first told me that I thought she was crazy, but it’s true. After she eats you can definitely tell her belly is bigger!

    • I have to admit; I’m guilty of taking all my bump pictures after dinner. It seems to be the only time I am really showing!! My husband cracks up because in the morning, you can’t even tell I’m pregnant. By the end of the day, with all the water retention, and after dinner, it’s a whole different story! Flat bump pictures are just NO FUN!! Tell your wife that Gap has a small, but decent maternity section at the back of Baby Gap. I know I don’t need maternity, but it makes shopping more fun. Also, all the sales women ask you when you are due! 🙂

  3. Alexis,
    As long as I can remember you have been perfect and beautiful and apparently even pregnancy isn’t going to change that…..hahaha

  4. Too cute! I actually can’t believe how much you are showing at only 13 weeks! You are probably retaining less water being pregnant so that may have something to do with the small poundage put on so far?

    Love the blog. You put a smile on my face with every new post.

    • Hey girl! Great to hear from you! I’m a bit guilty of only posting the most exaggerated bump pictures. 😉 It’s crazy how much my stomach differs from morning to night…especially after a large dinner! I’m super anxious to have a legitimate bump, so my pictures might be a wee-bit exaggerated! 😉

Leave a Reply

