First Sonogram!

Q:  How did your first sonogram go on Tuesday?

A: Wonderful!  I spent almost an hour with my nurse practitioner.  Mom drove me to my appointment, and Chris met us there.  Baby Weigand did fabulous for his/her first portrait; we even have pictures to prove it!  I’m 7 weeks along, due around Valentine’s Day, just as we had anticipated.  Our baby is the now the size of a peanut or blueberry.  Chris is cute, as he’s always kissing my tummy and talking to our “little peanut.”  The doctor sent me home with lots of prenatal vitamins, reading material, and a prescription to help the nausea.

Q:  Have you gained weight?

A: Sadly, yes.  Focusing on a settled stomach is not the same as focusing on a healthy diet.  When I found out I was prego, I weighed 130lbs.  I now weigh 134lbs and feel like half has gone to my boobs and the other half has gone straight to my stomach!  I can’t believe I already have to buy new bras.  I thought that would come around month 4 or 5!  La Cantera mall, here I come!  Any brand recommendations for supportive bras?!

Q:  Have you picked out any names yet?

A: You all know me better than to even ask!  We’ve had our baby names picked out for over a year!  Of course, they are always changing, but these have both stuck for over 6 months.

Boy – Carter Allen Weigand. Allen is Chris’ middle name.

Girl – Elise Nicole Weigand. Elise is take on Elizabeth, my Mom’s name.  We are still unsure about the middle name, but Claire is also in the running! I’ve also thought about naming her Claire Elise, and calling her Claire Elise.  The double name scares me just a tad, because I don’t want it shortened to just Claire.  But then again, some days I really do like Claire!  Chris is partial to Elise as the first name.  Any thoughts?!

Craziest story you all have shared with me!

Quoting Grandma Marsha’s email (my Mom’s Mom)

“Do you feel that you have gained any weight yet?  With your Mom, I wanted to gain weight, so Jesse took me for a banana split several nights a week, but I only gained 18 pounds for the whole 9 months.  Same with Chris… That’s odd, isn’t it?  Then the day I left the hospital, BOTH TIMES, I had lost 19 lbs.  Wow!!! Now that I think about it…that’s just plain UNHEARD OF!”

My Mom had almost the same story, but she gained 23lbs, and had lost 24lbs, the day she left the hospital.  Please let me take after my Mom and Grandma!!

7 Responses

  1. Post the sonogram pics and don’t worry about weight gain! Enjoy every minute of your pregnancy!!!!

  2. I agree above poster, don’t worry about the weight gain. I had to get over it as well. We’re gaining for a reason, our babies need it! You’ll also find that the gaining comes and goes. Some months you’ll gain 4 lbs and some months you won’t gain anything at all.

    Love your names. Elise was one my girl names until Mark’s cousin named his daughter Annelise. Grrrrr. Claire is Mark’s sister’s name. How funny.

    • Too funny about Claire and Elise! Weight gain is now under control, since my Dr. prescribed me medicine for the nausea. It’s for chemo patients; isn’t that crazy?! I feel SOOOO much better, it’s crazy! Which prenatal vitamins are you taking?? My doctor just gave me 20+ samples!!!

      • next time I’m pregnant, I’m def getting a prescription for nausea. Uggg, that sucked. My prenatals are the Rainbow Lite brand from Whole Foods. I like them better than the prescription ones.

  3. JC Penny’s used to be a good place for bras, etc.

    Just for the record with Cole, I had five pounds to go when I got home, but with Cassie I gained 15 and lost 20. I went home in my jeans!! 🙂 That was cool.

    Cole would have been a Nicole if he had been a girl. Now he is just Coco. There will always be a nickname
    of some sort no matter what you name them. I was told to stand on the front porch and call their names
    and if it didn’t sound good, don’t name them that name.
    That came from Grandma Rolan, my mom’s mom.

    • Too funny about standing on the porch and yelling their names! Chris and I do basically the same thing, but inside the house, for fear our neighbors would think we are going crazy! We have been saying, “Carter Allen, get your butt over here!” 😉

Leave a Reply

